Our Rural Talent Development Awards were established in 2019 as a pilot with Monash University. These awards go towards assisting medical students, with outstanding career vision in rural general practice, to continue their career goals. We have now established awards with the four universities which train medical students within our footprint.

  • Monash University
  • Deakin University
  • University of Melbourne
  • University of New South Wales

The awards were disrupted during 2020 with some university rotations affected by COVID-19 lock-downs.

Award winners 2021

Miriam Brownstein – Deakin University

In this acceptance video for her 2021 rural talent development award, final-year Deakin medical student Miriam Brownstein tells the remarkable story of how she developed her passion for rural general practice. Growing up in Timboon in rural Victoria, Miriam had first-hand insight into the essential contribution of the town’s two GPs — they were her parents.

Emma Sutton – Deakin University

In her acceptance video, Emma explains that winning a rural talent development award has assisted her financially in undertaking a rural placement. She discusses her passion for rural Victoria, her aim of becoming a rural generalist and why she’s loved every specialty she’s come into contact with during medical school.

Award winners 2020

Timothy O’Hare and Sachin PhakeyUniversity of Melbourne.

No other awards completed.

Inaugural award winners 2019

Georgia Smith and Madeleine Tickle – Monash University.

Watch Georgia’s acceptance speech.

See Georgia’s story.

See Madeleine’s story.