How to apply for the 2021 AGPT Program

Application and selection information 

Applications for the AGPT Program are made online directly to the college/s you wish to gain Fellowship of, either the Royal Australian College of General Practice (RACGP) or the Australian College of Rural and Remote Medicine (ACRRM).

College Application and Selection Timelines
RACGP Key Dates
ACRRM Key Dates
RACGP Key Dates
10am AEDT Monday 23 March 2020Applications open
10am AEST Monday 27 April 2020Applications close
Tuesday 2 June 2020Eligibility finalised
Thursday 25 June 2020 - Saturday 27 June 2020Candidate Assessment and Applied Knowledge Test (CAAKT)
Thursday 9 July 2020 - Tuesday 14 July 2020Applicants preference change period
Thursday 16 July 2020Applicants advised of interview allocations
Saturday 25 July 2020MMI interviews with MCCC
The Women's (RWH)
Melbourne
Friday 14 August 2020Offers finalised
ACRRM Key Dates
10am AEDT Monday 23 March 2020Applications open
10am AEST Monday 27 April 2020Applications close
Monday 11 May 2020Referee reports due
Monday 1 June 2020Last day to change training preferences
Monday 15 June 2020Candidates notified of eligibility
Tuesday 16 June 2020 - Friday 19 June 2020Eligible candidates notified of MMI date and time
Thursday 9 July 2020 - Sunday 19 July 2020MMIs conducted
Monday 3 August 2020Successful candidates notified
Monday 10 August 2020Last day to accept offer onto program

Important information before starting your application

It is important to consider your eligibility for the AGPT Program. Visit the college websites for further information regarding eligibility and training pathways.

There are also hospital experience requirements which both colleges require be completed prior to starting in-practice. They do not have to be completed prior to applying to the AGPT program. See our Hospital Experience Assessment page and the relevant college websites for additional information about mandatory hospital terms and advice regarding alternative options for rotations you may have difficulty obtaining.

Additionally, you may be able to apply for recognition of prior learning (RPL), a process separate to the hospital experience assessment. To learn more, see our RPL page.

Training experience considerations

We encourage you to think about the fantastic career opportunities provided by a rural general practice career. Rural and remote training posts provide dynamic, challenging and rewarding environments; shaping you into an empowered, confident specialist GP. Take a look at our where you can train page for information about our training facilities and the breadth of procedural skills you can gain from a placement in communities across our footprint.

If you have extensive, relevant hospital experience prior to joining the AGPT Program, you may be able to apply for recognition of prior learning (RPL), a process separate to the hospital experience assessment. Learn more about this process on our RPL page.

Would you like additional advice?

MCCC is here to support you with your journey to fellowship and to assist you with advice regarding becoming a GP.

Our FAQ section, has recently been updated and contains the answers to many of your questions.

Alternatively, chat to our AGPT Program Manager, Jenny SmithJenny can provide information about the selection process, help decide which training pathway is best for you, or provide guidance about your hospital experience. Call 03 4505 2608 or email info@mccc.com.au

Menu