Awarding our registrars

We are proud of the success of our registrars, with our exam results consistently above the national average. As a result, a number of our registrars have received awards in 2019.

Dr Dan Wilson

We are so proud to announce our Dr Dan Wilson as Victoria’s Junior Doctor of the Year 2019.

A message from Dr Dan follows:

I’m Dr Dan Wilson. I’m floored and proud to be announced as Victoria’s Junior Doctor of the Year 2019.

I’m a first-year Rural Generalist trainee with ACRRM and MCCC, with a passion for Obstetrics, LGBTIQ+ and Sexual Health, and Medical Education. I advocate for the interests of junior doctors through Doctors in Training Committee at Ballarat Health Services, and PMCV’s JMO Forum. In addition, I hold Board Directorship of Rural Doctor’s Association Victoria, to advocate for an integrated rural generalist training pathway and better outcome for rural Australians.

I am pleased to receive this award for my advocacy for junior doctors and work in the medical education space. Throughout 2019, alongside my medical education team at Ballarat Health Services, I developed a near-pear junior doctor and medical student extracurricular education program. Through this program, over 70 hours of volunteer doctor teaching hours have delivered clinical education to more than 350 medical students spanning two clinical schools. This program has utilised an integrative single online platform for coordination, delivery and feedback, yielding great success.

I am pleased to present this near-pear medical education model as an adjunct tool for Prevocational/Junior Doctor (PGY2+) continuing professional development at ANZPMEF19 (October 2019) — Australia and New Zealand’s premiere Prevocational Medical education conference.

I could not have achieved this feat without the assistance and support of many colleagues, mentors, supervisors and dear friends.

This award is dedicated to all those who support the advancement of medical education and junior doctor welfare.

Dr Anna Proietto

Anna has won the RACGP Richard Clinton Gutch medal for the highest pass score in each examination on their first attempt.

Dr Roisin Bhamjee

Roisin was the RACGP Foundation Charles Bridges-Webb Memorial Award winner.

Dr Rita McMorrow

Rita has been awarded the Australian Rotary Club “Enid Beatrice Farmer” PhD scholarship in diabetes and cardiometabolic research.